The validation procedure checks whether you will be able to recover data from a particular backup version, so when you select for validation on the time line…
- a full backup version, the program validates the full backup version only.
- a differential backup version, the program validates the initial full backup version and the selected differential backup version.
- an incremental backup version, the program validates the initial full backup, the selected incremental backup version, and the whole chain (if any) of backup versions to the selected incremental backup version. If the chain contains one or more differential backup versions, the program validates (in addition to the initial full backup version and the selected incremental backup version) only the most recent differential backup version in the chain and all subsequent incremental backup versions (if any) between the differential backup version and the selected incremental backup version.
This information can be helpful, for example, when you find out that a backup comprising a full backup version and a chain of incremental ones is corrupted. To troubleshoot the backup, do as follows. First of all validate the full backup version by selecting it on the time line, right-clicking and choosing Validate in the shortcut menu. If it is damaged, all the backup chain will be useless. When it is not damaged, proceed to validating incremental backup versions starting from the oldest, until you find the culprit. All incremental backup versions made after the corrupted one will be unusable, but you will be able to recover the data at least from the previous backup versions.
To validate an entire backup:
- Select the backup to validate, click Operations and select Validate backup. If the selected backup is password-protected, Acronis True Image Home 2011 will ask for the password in a dialog box.
- After you enter the correct password the program will start the validation procedure.
- When the validation is complete, you will see the result in the line below the backup’s box. You can cancel validation by clicking Cancel.